Under The Dark Cloth

  • Producer: Dave Lynch
  • Label: Adventures In Gramophone
  • Date: 07/11/11
  • Format: CD

‘Under the Dark Cloth’ - Songs based on the photographs of Stieglitz, Steichen & Strand, first performed at The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York

After performing at a small festival in New York in March 2010, Duke was asked by Spectrum, an initiative of the Museum, to visit them the following day. They wanted him to consider a collaboration with the Department of Photographs and an exhibition of the work of Alfred Stieglitz, Edward Steichen and Paul Strand. The songs on this recording are the result of a year’s living with the images, reading about the photographers, their subjects, their equipment and the times in which they lived and worked. They were first performed in March 2011 in New York at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.


  • Dancing Trees
  • Hand of men
  • Rita De Acosta
  • Spiritual America
  • Cherry Blossom Girl
  • Cloudgod
  • Washerwoman
  • Georgia O'Keeffe
  • You press the button, we do the rest
  • In Memoriam
  • Triumph of the egg
  • This is all that matters